Sri Lanka Brodcasting Corporation


Last updateTue, 17 Dec 2019 9am

Latest Posts

Team News

Herath appoint as captain for two test




Veteran spinner Rangana Herath  who was named Sri Lanka captain for the two test against Zimbabwe, fallowing regular skipper Angelo Mathew’s calf injury which ruled him out of the tour. He is the oldest person to lead the side since leg spinner Somachndra de Silva in 1983. Herath has played 73 test and took 332 wickets. 

Sri Lanka tour of Zimbabwe

 Four Uncapped Palyers in SL Squad

Three seamers Kasun Madusanka,Lahiru Gamage,Lahiru Kumara and middle order batsman Asela Gunarathna are new faces in Sri Lanka squad to Zimbabwe. Asela Gamge and Lahiru Gunarathna have played limited overs cricket for Sir Lanka. Promising right arm seamer Lahiru Kumara taking thirteen wickets in two youth test against touring West Indies A team. Vice captain Dinesh Chndimal suffering injury not selected for the tour.


sl vs zim

 Rangana Herath (Captain), Dimuth Karunarathne, Kaushal Silva, Kusal Janith Perera, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya De Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Asela Gunarathne,  Dilruwan Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Lahiru Gamage,Lahiru Kumara, Suranga Lakmal, Kasun Madushanka.


Zimbabwe tour Schedule

Zimbabwe tour Schedule


 Oct 9- Nov 30  First Test Harare Sports Club Local Time 13 00

Nov 6 - Nov 10  Second Test Harare Sports Club Local Time 13 00


Tri-nation Series 


Nov 14 Zimbabwe vs Sri Lanka Harare Sports Club Local Time 12 30

Nov 16 West Indies vs Sri Lanka Harare Sports Club Local Time 12 30

Nov 21 Zimbabwe vs Sri Lanka Queens Sports Club , Bulawayo Local Time 12 30

 Nov 23 West Indies vs Sri Lanka Queens Sports Club , Bulawayo Local Time 12 30



Paraolympics 2016

Dinesh Priyantha won bronze medal at Rio Paralympic's



Sri Lanka's Dinesh Priyantha Herath won the bronze medal at the 2016 Rio Paralympic's in the men's javelin throw. He cleared the distance of 58.23m which was his personal best. India & China won the gold and silver respectively. This is a second occasion Sri Lankan athlete won a medal in Paralympic's. At the 2012 summer Paralympic's in London Sri Lanka won their first Paralympic medal through Pradeep Sanjaya.       

Sri Lanka youth won Gamini Disanayake trophy

Sri Lanka youth won Gamini Disanayaka trophy


sl vs sa u19 200 200

Sri Lanka under 19 team beat South Africa under 19 team by 6 wickets in the third & final ODI won the inaugural Gamini Disanayake trophy at the SSC. Sri Lanka vice captain Shammu Ashan showing excellent all round performance & won the man of the match award. Shammu scored match winning knock of 70 runs & took 3 wickets for 38 runs.    

SA Under 19 - 195     ( Raynard van Tonder 37 Wiaan Mulder 59 Wandile Makwetu 26 Damith de Silva 4/48 Shammu Ashan 3/38)

SL Under 19 - 199/4  ( Shanmuganathan Shanugeeth 41 Sahmmu Ashan 70* Ashen Bandara 37 *)  

What Next