Sri Lanka Brodcasting Corporation


Last updateTue, 10 Dec 2019 3pm

Sports News

Sri Lanka cricket team departs island for a tour in India

Sri Lanka cricket team will start a tour in India today. At a ceremony held in Sri Lanka Cricket prior to departure, skipper Dinesh Chandimal said his team is ready accept the challenges of strong Indian team. The first test against India will begin on the 16th.

The 11th World Military Golf Championship - 2017 is to be held in Trincomalee this month.


The 11th World Military Golf Championship - 2017 is to be held at the Air Force Eagles' Golf Links in China Bay, Trincomalee from 12th -19th of this month. The tournament will be held under the patronage the Chief of Defence Staff, Admiral Ravindra Wijegunaratne. This is the first international golf tournament to be held in Sri Lanka. The tournament will see 84 players from 12 countries competing with each other for the championship trophy. The Sri Lankan team is represented by six male and three female golfers. A highlight of this tournament is the participation of female players for the first time. In addition 27 officials from the International Military Sports Council will officiate during the championship.

Indian captain Virat Kohli returnes to top of ICC ODI rankings

Indian captain Virat Kohli today returned to the top of the ICC ODI rankings for batsmen after logging career-high rating points, going past the iconic Sachin Tendulkar in the process. Kohli has moved back to the top within 10 days of losing it to South Africa batsman AB de Villiers after the rankings were updated following India’s 2 to 1 home series win against New Zealand. The 28-year-old Delhi batsman, who scored 263 runs in the series, has reached 889 points, which is the best ever by an Indian batsman.

Pakistan whitewashed the ODI series against Sri Lanka.

Usman Khan picked up five wickets to rattle Sri Lanka in the fifth ODI in Sharjah as Pakistan completed a clean-sweep against Sri Lanka. With a target of 104, Pakistan openers Imam-ul-Haq and Fakhar Zaman forged an 84-run opening wicket partnership to help Pakistan secure their second whitewash against Sri Lanka.


Pakistan won the 3rd ODI against Sri Lanka played at Abu Dhabi stadium yesterday.

Pakistan won the 3rd ODI against Sri Lanka played at Abu Dhabi stadium yesterday. Sri Lanka won the toss and batted first. Accordingly, Sri Lanka were bowled out for 208 in 48.2 overs. In reply, Pakistan reached the victory target in 42.3 overs losing only 3 wickets.

Pakistan won the first ODI against Sri Lanka

Pakistan reasserted their dominance in the UAE with a crushing win in Dubai over a Sri Lanka side that has seen ODI wins excruciatingly hard to come by in 2017. A century from Babar Azam and a blistering 81 from Shoaib Malik saw Pakistan set Sri Lanka a stiff target of 293. In Reply, Sri Lanka were all out for 209 runs. Lahiru Thirimanna scored 53 runs while Akila Dhananjaya scored 50 runs and was not out. The 2nd ODI will be played on the 16th of this month.

A 15 member squad for the Asian Trophy under 19 cricket tournament has been named .

A 15 member squad has been named for the Asian Trophy under 19 cricket tournament. Member of the junior cricket selection committee Ranjan Paranavithana told the SLBC that training for them will begin from next week. Many players outside Colombo have been included in this pool. The Asian Trophy under 19 cricket tournament will be held in New Zealand in January next year.

Sri Lanka plays its first day and night test cricket match from today against Pakistan.

Spinners will have a key role to play in the second Test between Sri Lanka and Pakistan – the first to be played by Sri Lanka under lights with a pink ball at the Dubai International Stadium today. Play is due to commence at 3.30 pm Sri Lankan time and end at 10.30 pm Sri Lankan time.


Herath's 400th wicket seals dramatic victory for Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka beat Pakistan by 21 runs in the first Test, which ended at Abu Dhabi a short while ago. Rangana Herath bagged 6 wickets for 43 runs to demolish the Pakistan second innings for 114. However, in the 47th over of the Yasir Shah was caught behind in the 4th ball. But, the review found that Dilruwan Perera had overstepped. The wicket of Mohammad Abbas was Herath's 400 Test wicket.


Kumar Sangakkara names his All Time XI

Kumar Sangakkara currently playing for Surrey in County cricket, recently announced that he will be retiring from first-class cricket at the end of the present English County Championship season. He has announced his ‘All Time playing XI’. His team comprises Matthew Hayden, Rickey Ponting, Adam Gilchrist, Shane Warne from Australia, Brian Lara from West Indies, Rahul Dravid from India, Jacques Kallis from South Africa, Wasim Akram from Pakistan and Aravinda De Silva, Muttaiah Muralidharan and Chaminda Vaas.

Local News