Sri Lanka Brodcasting Corporation


Last updateThu, 13 Sep 2018 10am

Sports News

The Western Province is in the forefront at the National Sports Festival

The Western Province is in the forefront at the National Sports Festival being held at the Dorei Appa Stadium in Jaffna receiving 101 gold, 37 silver and 62 bronze medals. The 2nd place secured by the Central province receiving 28 gold, 35 silver and 38 bronze medals. Southern Province is in the 3rd place receiving 25 gold, 24 silver and 41 bronze.

Two new SL records created in the 2nd day of the national sports festival

Today is the 2nd day of the National Sports Festival being held at the Duraiappa stadium in Jaffna. Two new Sri Lankan records were created today. Tharika Fernando of Western Province was able to create a new Sri Lankan record in the women's shot put event. It was 15 point 25 meters. Meanwhile, Jaga-Eswaran Anna of Northern Province created another record in the pole vault event by nailing
a 3.4 meter attempt. The previous record was by Hasitha Dilrukshi of North Central Province.

Meanwhile, Lionel Samarajeewa who represented the Central Province won the gold medal of the 10,000 meter event held today. The silver medal was won by B.A.Maduranga of Sabaragamuwa Province while K.G.S. Kumara from Uva Province bagged the bronze medal. Meanwhile, the 5000 meter event was won by Nilmini Ratnayake of Sabaragamuwa Province.

Zimbabwe to host Sri Lanka for Tests

Zimbabwe Cricket has announced that they will host Sri Lanka for two Tests followed by a one-day tri-series that will also involve West Indies. The two Tests will be played in Harare, with the first one from October 29 and the second from November 6.

The tri-series will begin fromNovember 14 with the first match between the hosts and Sri Lanka at the Harare Sports Club. The three teams will play each other twice, making it a total of six round-robin matches, before the final on November 27. The last four ODIs and the final will all be played in Bulawayo.

National Sorts Festival starts tomorrow at Alfred Duraiappa stadium in Jaffna

The 42nd edition of National Sorts Festival will commence tomorrow at Alfred Duraiappa stadium in Jaffna.

The inaugural ceremony will be presided by the Speaker of the parliament Karu Jayasuriya. Ministers Akila Viraj Kariyawasam and Dayasiri Jayasekera along with political leaders of the North will also grace the occasion.


Paralympic medal winner Dinesh Priyantha Herath felicitated.

A ceremony to felicitate Dinesh Priyantha Herath who won the bronze medal of the Javelin throw event at the Rio Paralympic games was held last night at the Kingsbury Hotel in Colombo. His coach Rohitha Fernando was also present on the occasion.


SL Paralympic team to return today

The Sri Lankan team who took part in the Paralympic games in Rio, Brazil will return to the island today. A special ceremony has been organized at the Katunayake international airport this evening to welcome them. Subsequently another function will be held in Colombo under the auspices of Prime Minister Ranil Wickremasinghe to felicitate them.

Dinesh Priyantha Herath was able to win a bronze medal at the Paralympic games. Furthermore, all eight sports personnel were able to reach the final rounds of the events. 

The Prime Minister says Sri Lanka cricket team should aim to win the world cup 2019.

Prime Minister Ranil Wickremasinghe says Sri Lanka cricket team should aim to win the world cup 2019. He added that the victory should be achieved through lessons from the past.


Paralympic games end with a tribute to the Iranian cyclist.

The Rio 2016 Paralympic Games have come to a close inside a packed Maracana Stadium. Singers, dancers and fireworks lit up the iconic stadium before tributes were paid to Iranian cyclist Bahman Golbarnezhad, who died on Saturday.

President of the International Paralympic Committee Sir Philip Craven said the movement was "united in grief". Referring to the success of the Games, Craven said the Rio Paralympics were "uniquely Brazilian and wondrous".

Craven had earlier passed the Paralympic flag between the mayor of Rio and governor of Tokyo, the Japanese capital city where the next Games will be held in 2020. His speech thanked organizers, athletes and spectators and he was warmly applauded when bestowing the Paralympic Order on the Brazilian city, his organization's highest honour.

Dinesh Priyantha Herath secure SL’s first medal in Rio Paralympics

Dinesh Priyantha Herath secured Sri Lanka’s first medal in men’s javelin throw F46 final at the Rio Paralympics. The 30-year-old Sri Lankan thrower cleared a distance of 58.23 meters, a personal best mark, to win the bronze medal. Indian Devandra Jhahharia won the gold with a new world record mark of 63.97 meters and Guo Chunliang of China secured the silver with a distance of 59.93 meters.  
Meanwhile, a Brazilian swimmer has won his fifth medal in Rio and his 20th overall, becoming the host nation's best-performing individual Paralympian. Daniel Dias took gold in the 50 meter freestyle in the S5 category. He raced against and defeated the man who first inspired him to become a Paralympic swimmer. 

New Zealand blade runner beats Pistorius record

New Zealand's Liam Malone has broken a Paralympic Games record held by South Africa's Oscar Pistorius. The 22-year-old from Nelson won gold in the men's 200 meters T44 final with a personal best time of 21.06 seconds.

The previous record time set by Pistorius was 21.30 seconds.

Local News