Sri Lanka Brodcasting Corporation


Last updateThu, 13 Sep 2018 10am

Local News

The Sri Lanka Freedom Party appoints new office bearers on a temporary basis

The Sri Lanka Freedom Party today appointed new office bearers on a temporary basis. The central, executive and national committees of the party met this morning at Apey Gama at Battaramulla under the chairmanship of President Maithripala Sirisena and made the appointments.

Former presidents Chandrika Kumaratunge and Mahinda Rajapaksa and former Prime Minister D.M. Jayarathne were appointed as patrons of the party. President Sirisena was reappointed as the chairman. Professor Rohana Lakshman Piyadasa will be the new general secretary of the SLFP. Duminda Dissanayake and S.B. Dissanayake will be the national organizer and the treasurer respectively. Senior vice presidents appointed on the occasion are Nimal Siripala De Silva, John Seneviratne, Anura Priyadarshana Yapa and Susil Premjayantha.